Centex Mechanical Air & Heat has served our neighbors in Elgin, TX and the surrounding areas since 1984. Our goal is to always provide competitve prices and expert service.

Read our reviews and find out why your neighbors have considered us to be their nearby air conditioning and heating company in Elgin, TX for over 36 years.

Local Reviews
for Elgin, TX

Centex Mechanical Air & Heat Rated 4.6 out of 5 stars based on 15 customer reviews

Our Reviews by City

Elgin, TX (15)


Knowledgeable Technician!




Review of Centex Mechanical Air & Heat

Daryl was prompt, polite and incredibly helpful! He explained our issue thoroughly and answered our questions, excellent service as always from Centex!


Response from Centex Mechanical Air & Heat:

Thank you for taking the time to leave us some feedback! Here at Centex Mechanical Air & Heat we strive to create a hassle-free experience from start to finish and we are so pleased to hear that Daryl took great care of you. We value your business and look forward to servicing your future HVAC needs!


Great service




Review of Centex Mechanical Air & Heat

Daryl was friendly, respectful, courteous, and professional.


Response from Centex Mechanical Air & Heat:

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience! We are so pleased to hear that Daryl took such great care of you. We value your business and look forward to servicing your future HVAC needs!


Wonderful service. Great attitude!




Review of Centex Mechanical Air & Heat

Same as above


Response from Centex Mechanical Air & Heat:

Thank you for taking the time to leave us some feedback! We are pleased to hear that you received 5-star service and that our tech took great care of you. We appreciate your continued business and the trust you have placed in us and we look forward to serving you in the future.


Prompt and Thorough




Review of Centex Mechanical Air & Heat


Prompt & best service for customer!




Review of Centex Mechanical Air & Heat


Response from Centex Mechanical Air & Heat:

Hey, Randy! Thank you for taking the time to leave us some feedback. As always, it's a pleasure doing business with you and we look forward to serving you in the future!


Great service




Review of Centex Mechanical Air & Heat

They arrived when promised and took care of the issue on the same day.


Response from Centex Mechanical Air & Heat:

Thank you for taking the time to leave us some feedback! We are pleased to know that our team provided 5-star service. We value your business and look forward to serving you in the future!


A/C repair




Review of Centex Mechanical Air & Heat


Response from Centex Mechanical Air & Heat:

Thank you for taking the time to leave us some feedback! We are pleased to know that you received 5-star service! We appreciate your continued business and look forward to serving you in the future.


Great service and quick!




Review of Centex Mechanical Air & Heat

Nice guy, great job, took his time. Not having AC in Texas is scary!


Response from Centex Mechanical Air & Heat:

Hi, Eileen! Thank you for taking the time to leave us some feedback. No a/c in Texas is indeed scary! And we are so pleased to hear that Michael took great care of you and got you cooling again. We appreciate your business and look forward to servicing your future HVAC needs!


Supervisor was disingenuous and rude




Review of Centex Mechanical Air & Heat

Daryl was great. The daughter of the owner could work on her customer service skills. Please refer to my complaint with BBB and google reviews for more info.


Response from Centex Mechanical Air & Heat:

Ms. Carmack called us to schedule and relayed her issue, our CSR explained that the service tech would need to diagnose the problem and would provide estimates for the repair. Ms. Carmack agreed to the diagnostic fee of $55. Our Customer Service Rep did her job and does not diagnose systems or give prices for possible scenarios. When our technician arrived, he diagnosed the system and he gave her options and she chose to decline them. Our customer service reps happily take phone calls and schedule service repairs, they do not and can not diagnose systems. We were upfront about the diagnostic fee and she agreed to pay it in order to schedule the appointment.


Excellent service!




Review of Centex Mechanical Air & Heat

Centex has serviced our units for several years. They are always professional, punctual, thorough and honest. I highly recommend them!


Response from Centex Mechanical Air & Heat:

Thank you for taking the time to leave us some feedback! We are pleased to hear that you received 5-star service. It's been an honor to do business with y'all over the years and we look forward to serving you in the future.


Great Service




Review of Centex Mechanical Air & Heat

Quick service, all my questions were answered


Response from Centex Mechanical Air & Heat:

Thank you for taking the time to leave us some feedback! We are pleased to hear that our team provided quick service and answered all of your questions. We appreciate your business and look forward to serving you in the future!


Great service and pricing




Review of Centex Mechanical Air & Heat


prefer to wait till i get my first electric bill




Review of Centex Mechanical Air & Heat

there was 1 issue, but I think an honest mistake. I had told the consultant that I wanted to keep the old unit and it was not relayed to the team that did the work. the team was very efficient and my new AC looks very nice . the key will be if it drops my bill in half like I was told it should. the price is fair if it does as good as I was told it would. i'll give another feedback after I have more info. they did clean up very good and made a special trip to bring back the old unit, so that was a very good thing.


Great Service on a hot day!




Review of Centex Mechanical Air & Heat

I was really impressed at how efficient and quick everyone was. When questions came up, they were friendly and incredibly nice, even though everyone was sweating. Gene even suggested an electrician who managed to get things knocked out quick. To go from 88 F degree days for a week to 78 F days sounds like a little, but it is amazing how well I’ve slept. Job well done!


Great service




Review of Centex Mechanical Air & Heat

All the guys did a great & professional job.


Daryl W.

Daryl W.

When I arrived the client stated the system was not cooling but he took off the nest thermostat and put a regular one on and it started cooling. I tested the pressure and the split which both were at manufactures specifications. I noticed water in the float switch and found the drain line buried outside and below grade. I recommend clearing the drain line and the client agreed so I cleared it and made sure it was cooling. I reminded the client that the system was undersized and that the thermostat he put on was not a correct 2 heat 1 coil heat pump thermostat and I would recommend getting the correct one ASAP. I let the client know to keep an eye on the drain line since it is below grade and if need to be we can always run a new drain line with a condensate pump.

Near Wedgewood Ln, Elgin, TX 78621
Daryl W.

Daryl W.

I found that the secondary float safety switch was full of water causing the air conditioning system to shut down. I spoke with the client about their different options and maintenance choices. They chose the hf3a. I cleared the drain line and made sure the their HVAC system came back on.

Near Wilderness Trail, Elgin, TX 78621
Daryl W.

Daryl W.

I installed the new ecobee pro and set it up properly. I made sure the HVAC system turned on and off properly.

Near Wood Lily Tr, Elgin, TX 78621
Michael B.

Michael B.

System is operating at manufacture specifications at this time but the thermostat was going below 79 client stated that it would a few time before we need to order an ecobee5 for mr. Keller and schedule a time and to come install it.

Near Wood Lily Tr, Elgin, TX 78621
Michael B.

Michael B.

Upon arrival found the a/c system operating they have system draining into a canister in the ground client said he would take care of it.

Near N Ave F, Elgin, TX 78621
Daryl W.

Daryl W.

When I arrived I found that the air conditioning system was having a hard time getting to the desired temperature. I checked the refrigerant levels and found that it was low on refrigerant. I leak searched the system and couldn't find any leaks. I did find that the true suction port did not have a cap on it. I let the client know what I found and he said to get it to the proper levels. I refilled the system with 3 pounds of r419a and tested the temperature split which was 18 degrees. The air conditioning system is a 3 ton and the house is about 1500sft, I let client know in my opinion that the system is undersized and might struggle on hotter days.

Near Wedgewood Ln, Elgin, TX 78621
Tim D.

Tim D.

Performed cooling evaluation on Ac and AC is operating at manufacture specifications at this time.

Near Tanglewood Trail, Elgin, TX 78621
Daryl W.

Daryl W.

I performed the cooling evaluation on the HVAC system and found it operating properly at this time.

Near Upper Elgin River Rd, Elgin, TX 78621
Tim D.

Tim D.

Performed cooling evaluation on two systems. Both AC systems are operating at manufacture specifications at this time.

Near Farm to Market Rd 1704, Elgin, TX 78621
Daryl W.

Daryl W.

I found that the HVAC system that serves the back side of the building was frozen solid. I defrosted and then tested the cooling, I made sure the indoor coil was still clean, the air filter looked recently replaced, and the charge was good. I let it run 20-30 minutes to make sure the pressures didn't fluctuate. The air filters the client has are not the exact filters they need to be and are a little smaller than the actual Honeywell filters. Also the condensers are getting dirty again. Explained to client that we need to schedule for a time to have the air conditioning system maintenance so the done so they can get the best performance out of their HVAC.

Near Elbow Bend, Elgin, TX 78621
Michael B.

Michael B.

Upon arrival found the condenser fan motor bad talked to client and he went with hc7a at this time changed out the out door motor and system is operating at manufacture specifications at this time. . Randy Allen said we normally send an email invoice.

Near Old McDade Rd, Elgin, TX 78621
Daryl W.

Daryl W.

I performed the cooling evaluation because client was leaking water out of his secondary drain line and was concerned with how long it took to coil down the house after I left yesterday. I let client know that 4-5 hours to cool down a already hot house and an 100 degree ambient temperature is normal. I tested the system and found it to be working great and has a 20 degree temperature split.

Near Wood Lily Tr, Elgin, TX 78621
Daryl W.

Daryl W.

I found that the voltage distribution system on the air conditioning system was welded shut and causing the system to freeze up. I spoke with the client about his different options and he chose the hd3c. I replaced the voltage enhancement, voltage distribution, added performance enhancement and redid wire terminals. I then started the system up and made sure it was operating properly. The client has also signed up for our maintenance program.

Near Wood Lily Tr, Elgin, TX 78621
Michael B.

Michael B.

Upon arrival found the system not operating at all found a bad transformer spoke to client about options and he went with HD2A at this time.

Near Upper Elgin River Rd, Elgin, TX 78621
Tim D.

Tim D.

Replaced the heat transfer media system and AC is operating at manufacture specifications at this time. .

Near Juniper Trail, Elgin, TX 78621
Daryl W.

Daryl W.

I found that the air conditioning system had a bad voltage enhancement system. I spoke with the client about his different options and he chose the Hn5a. I replaced the voltage enhancement system and made sure it worked properly.

Near Ethan Dr, Elgin, TX 78621
Daryl W.

Daryl W.

Replacement of the filter on this commercial hvac system.

Near Hwy 290 Hwy E, Elgin, TX 78621
Michael B.

Michael B.

Upon arrival found the nothing with the system everything was operating properly

Near Upper Elgin River Rd, Elgin, TX 78621
Daryl W.

Daryl W.

I found that the upstairs damper was wired incorrectly and broken. I then tested the downstairs and found it not working either. I spoke with the client about her different options and she chose the hz2a and a maintenance agreement. I will have Dillion order the parts, I have the damper temporarily rigged up to stay open. replaced the upland down stairs dampers but the downstairs was DOA so I had to go get it RMI in north Austin and come back and replace it.

Near Vicksburg Loop, Elgin, TX 78621
Daryl W.

Daryl W.

I found that the spar bedroom system was very low on refrigerant. I leak searched and couldn’t find a leak. When I first opens the system I did find that the cap was loose. I spoke with the client about her options and she chose to pay the service charge at this time.

Near Q.S. Goins Ln, Elgin, TX 78621
Daryl W.

Daryl W.

Gave the client a quote on a new hvac system. Client agreed to the price and put 10% down. Please send Dillion to install a window unit.

Near Lower Elgin Rd, Elgin, TX 78621
Michael B.

Michael B.

Performed a/c evaluation and system is operating at manufacture specifications at this time

Near Co Rd 463, Elgin, TX 78621
Daryl W.

Daryl W.

I found that the downstairs air conditioning system faulted several times early this morning. I recommend motor replacement because everything else check out and the client chose the hc12a. I replaced the motor and put the system in the test mode and found the system operating properly at this time. Client paid over the phone.

Near Blisard Rd, Elgin, TX 78621
Daryl W.

Daryl W.

I found that the 2 ton hvac system had a bad exhaust removal system. We replaced in November with a 6 month warranty but since this unit ran 4 months with a cover over it I had damaged the exhaust removal system. I spoke with the client about her different options and she chose the hc7a. I made the repair and made sure it was cooling.

Near Westbrook Ln, Elgin, TX 78621
Daryl W.

Daryl W.

I found that the client accidentally broke the blower wheel on the mini split in the living area. I spoke with the client about his different options and he chose the HC18A. I let client know that it will be at least a week before we can get the part in. He has people staying in the cabin so he said the sooner the better especially if we can get it installed by the 22nd. Performed the HC18A on system and system is operating at manufacture specifications at this time.

Near Upper Elgin River Rd, Elgin, TX 78621